Gold Adventures LLC Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Recreational Prospecting Progression

3 posters

Go down

Recreational Prospecting Progression Empty Recreational Prospecting Progression

Post by kellphi Mon Nov 14, 2016 1:25 pm

Hello all,

First I want to introduce myself. My name is Philip and I am currently a graduate student at the Colorado School of Mines. I had my first experience gold hunting with my wife this weekend in Clear Creek just above Golden. Possibly because of my inexperience in panning, or just otherwise newbieness, we didn't find any gold in 2.5 hours of panning. Nevertheless, I am totally hooked!

My question is what is a good progression into the hobby of prospecting? Being a graduate student, I don't have a bunch of money I can through at a Gold Cube (however much I'd like to). Right now we simply own a pan, a shovel, and a snuffer bottle. I realized on Sunday that using only a pan is tiring work and really limits the amount of throughput that we can manage. My thought is to purchase a 1/8" screen to start and go from there. Let me know if you have any suggestions on what to purchase and in what order to maximize my cash.

I look forward to many more gold hunting days to come!

Thanks,

Philip

kellphi

Back to top Go down

Recreational Prospecting Progression Empty Re: Recreational Prospecting Progression

Post by russau Tue Nov 15, 2016 4:42 am